THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY ELECTIONS REGULATIONS 2014

[Regulations 2 and 5(1)]

NOTICE OF ELECTION OF SIXTY TWO MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

The President of the Republic having issued writs for the election of three Members of the National Assembly for each of the twenty constituencies of Mauritius, and of two Members for the Constituency of Rodrigues, the returning officer for each constituency will, on Tuesday the twenty-second (22nd) day of October, 2019 next ensuing, between the hours of 9 am and 3 pm at the "Nomination Centre" respectively shown opposite each constituency in the schedule below, receive the nomination of candidates for election as Members of the National Assembly for each constituency and if there is no opposition, proceed to the election of three Members for each of the twenty constituencies of Mauritius and of two Members for the Constituency of Rodrigues.

Forms of nomination paper may be obtained at the office of the Electoral Commissioner, MaxCity Building, Corner Remy Ollier and Louis Pasteur Streets, Port Louis or at the sub-office of the Electoral Commissioner at Port Mathurin, Rodrigues between the hours of 9 am and 3 pm on working days, except on Saturdays when the office will be closed at noon.

The forms can also be downloaded at the website of the Office of the Electoral Commissioner at http://electoral.govmu.org

Every nomination paper shall be signed by at least 4 registered electors of the constituency in which the candidate seeks election, be accompanied by the National Identity Card of the candidate or his passport, driving licence or bus pass, and be submitted to the returning officer between the hours of 9 am and 3 pm.

Where a nomination paper is submitted by a person acting on behalf of a candidate, it shall be accompanied by the National Identity Card of that person and that of the candidate, or such other proof of identity, as mentioned above.

Every nomination paper shall specify the name, sex, address and occupation of the candidate and contain a declaration by the candidate that he is qualified.

A deposit of 1,500 rupees shall be made upon the submission of the nomination paper.

Each candidate belonging to a party or party alliance shall make and subscribe on his nomination paper –

- (a) a declaration of the party or party alliance, if any, registered under regulation 8 of the National Assembly Elections Regulations 2014, to which he belongs, and he shall submit a certificate from his party or party alliance certifying that he belongs to that party or party alliance;
- (b) a declaration as to which of the Hindu, Muslim, Sino-Mauritian or General Population community he belongs to.

SCHEDULE

Constituency		Nomination Centre	
No.	Name	Name	Address
1	Grand River North West and Port Louis West	Renganaden Seeneevassen Government School	Douglas Street, Les Salines, Port Louis
2	Port Louis South and Port Louis Central	Raoul Rivet Government School	34, St. Georges Street, Port Louis
3	Port Louis Maritime and Port Louis East	Jean Lebrun Government School	Golam Mohamed Issac Street, Port Louis
4	Port Louis North and Montagne Longue	Nicolay Government School	Cocoterie Road, Roche Bois, Port Louis
5	Pamplemousses and Triolet	Pamplemousses Government School	Royal Road, Pamplemousses
6	Grand Baie and Poudre d'Or	Grand Baie Government School	School Lane, Grand Baie
7	Piton and Riviere du Rempart	Bheewa Mahadoo Government School	Royal Road, Rivière du Rempart
8	Quartier Militaire and Moka	Révérend Edward Walter Government School	Royal Road, Quartier Militaire
9	Flacq and Bon Accueil	Shri Rajiv Gandhi Government School	Riche Mare, Central Flacq
10	Montagne Blanche and Grand River South East	Ramnarain Roy Government School	Royal Road, Bel Air Riviere Sèche
11	Vieux Grand Port and Rose Belle	Nouvelle France Government School	Seegoolam Road, Nouvelle France
12	Mahebourg and Plaine Magnien	Willoughby Government School	Camizard Street, Mahebourg
13	Rivière des Anguilles and Souillac	Rivière des Anguilles Government School	La Baraque Street, Rivière des Anguilles
14	Savanne and Black River	New Bambous Government School	Royal Road, Bambous
15	La Caverne and Phoenix	Nunkishore Saddul Government School	Jackson Road, Vacoas
16	Vacoas and Floreal	Pandit Cashinath Kistoe Aryan Vedic Hindu Aided School	St. Paul Road, Vacoas

17	Curepipe and Midlands	James Toolsy Government School	Avrillon Street, Curepipe
18	Belle Rose and Quatre Bornes	Baichoo Madhoo Government School	Telfair Avenue, Quatre Bornes
19	Stanley and Rose Hill	Notre Dame des Victoires Roman Catholic Aided School	Dr. Maurice Curé Street, Rose Hill
20	Beau Bassin and Petite Rivière	Philippe Rivalland Roman Catholic Aided School	Shand Street, Beau Bassin
21	Rodrigues	Basile Allas Port Mathurin Government School	Royal Road, Bay Lascars, Rodrigues