Registration of Electors 2021

Registers of electors are compiled and come into force on 16 August every year as per the provisions of the Representation of the People Act.

The register of electors is compiled following 2 distinct phases –

  • House to House Inquiry in the beginning of each year
  • Registration of electors in centres from 16 to 30 May

Due to Covid-19 pandemic and national lockdown, the second phase of Registration of electors in centres would not be carried out from 16 to 30 May 2021.

The dates have, accordingly, been varied by the Electoral Supervisory Commission on, as follows:

Registration of electors at centres: 16 – 31 July 2021

The register of electors shall now come into force on 15 October 2021.

  1. A house to house inquiry carried out in the beginning of the year.
  2. A country-wide registration of electors carried out in various registration centres in May (Exceptionally due to the COVID 19 pandemic, the registration exercise will be conducted in July)

The house to house inquiry for the year 2021 was held between 1 March and 15 March in Constituency no. 21, island of Rodrigues. A provisional register (electors’ list) shall be compiled for all constituencies, and made available for inspection by the general public.

Citizens will be called upon to verify whether their names are included in the electors’ list; and in the event their names are not included, to present claims to the Assistant Registration Officers to be registered as electors.

The Registration exercise will be conducted from 16 July to 31 July 2021 in registration centres throughout the 21 constituencies.

Skip to content